My partner has high-grade serous ovarian cancer

• 3 replies
  • 31 subscribers

Hello, everyone.

I'm currently doing my PhD in literature and philosophy, in the UK. My partner was diagnosed with high-grade serous ovarian cancer (stage 1c1) on 15 Mar 2022 after her biopsy in China. She's just 35, a brilliant dancer.

On 21 Mar she had the surgery which removed her uterus, both ovaries and fallopian tubes (as well as pelvic lymph node, aorta lymph node, greater omentum, appendix, abdominal wall lesions, celiac lesions, liver lesions). On 28 Mar she had her first chemo with Paclitaxel (6 cycles of standard Paclitaxel-Carboplatin). Last week she just had her 4th chemo session (7 Jun).

During the treatment she sometimes got lymphedema in her leg. She has no appetite most of time and keeps losing weight. The last ultrasound she had on 27 May shows pelvic masses, hydronephrosis, cavernous haemangioma and multiple cysts in the liver, and gallbladder polyps. Her oncologist hasn’t talked with her about what these test results mean and how’s her chemo going exactly yet.

Actually, I think her treatment experience has been very frustrating so far, to say the least. I don’t know much about that in the UK, but in China, the asymmetry of information and power between doctors and patients is huge. Usually the doctors have the absolute authority and are too busy to talk to patients. Hospitals in big cities are battlefields due to the misdistribution of medical resources, and you need infinite patience to wait for the every step to proceed. I really don’t want to complain too much, but the current covid situation in China has definitely hampered her basic treatment and well-being.