Struggling with moms diagnosis

• 4 replies
  • 33 subscribers

Hiya, 

this is my first time here and I am looking for some support for myself and my mom who is newly diagnosed with lung cancer. Everything has happened so quickly and I am just not sure how I feel right now. I am 27 and extremely close to my mom.. we are now at the stage of looking at treatments and surgery has been ruled out due to her copd and also chemo as they have said she is not strong enough due to ill health alongside the cancer. 
what is immunotherapy and will it make my mom better? We have received minimal support so far and I have so many unanswered questions and no where to turn

Please could someone speak to me about their similar experiences and how I can cope with accepting that this may be the end. 

• Hi and welcome to our community though so sorry to hear about your mom.

For details on immunotherapy and lung cancer you can see here, of course if it would make your mum better is something of an unknown but if the doctors offer it then the is some chance.

If actually speaking to someone might help you could ring our helpline 0808 808 0000 - if is open 7 days a week from 8am to 8pm and can certainly help to discuss what your future might hold and how to make the best of where you are now.

<<hugs>>

Steve

Community Champion Badge