Mum's Incurable Cancer

• 6 replies
  • 33 subscribers

Hello, I'm new to all this so bear with me!

4 years ago my Mum was diagnosed with breast cancer and she had surgery and chemotherapy.

Then, almost a year ago she was diagnosed with secondary breast cancer, this was obviously a big shock since it had felt like she had only just finished her treatment from the primary breast cancer. They say it is treatable but not curable, on the first day of lockdown in March 2020, she started her new chemo tablets which we are told should work for a couple of years, then they said they can try something else afterwards, but I have no idea what.

As we approach the end of the first year in which Mum has been taking these tablets, I can't help but wonder how long they will work for, she has been in more pain recently as well which makes it all too real that she won't get better.

I'm 22 and feel like I am living in constant uncertainty at what the future might look like.

Some days I'm fine and can almost forget its happening but other days its all I can think about.

I don't know anyone else with family members who have cancer so joined here so that I didn't feel so isolated in this, my family don't really talk about it and the only person I feel I can talk to is my Mum but then I don't want to make her feel worse and to be honest I feel selfish telling her how I'm struggling when she is the one who is actually going through it. 

Sorry for the long, rambling post!!

• Hi and a very warm welcome to the club we hope nobody ever needed to join.

You have done fantastically well up to now - but well done for coming here, as you say you can be less alone. It is amazing how meeting strangers even virtually can be such a big help.