Heartbreaking, having more than 1 family member with incurable cancer.

• 4 replies
  • 32 subscribers

For 3 years my mum has been battling Myeloma ( blood and bone cancer), then 15 months ago out of the blue my brother was diagnosed with AML, Leukemia.. my dad is 70 and disabled too.. but we rallied as much as we could... 2 of my main family with 2 different blood cancers, a lot of chemo, treatments, hospital appointments..then covid hit and they're all shielding,  my brother was too ill to go to hospital, some weeks. I went down to be shown how to give him his chemo st home, scary beyond all reason ( even though I worked as a na in local hospital for nearly 10yrs)... covid restrictions worsened my mum had her sct cancelled as she was also diagnosed with necrosis of her jaw! More covid sadly come August last year I went to my brothers hospital appointment to be told he only had a few months.. no treatment was working, he wanted to stay home for as long as possible 1 because of covid 2 because he spent a lot of the last yr in hospital.. he organised to go to a hospice when the time came .. sadly the day he was meant to go, he was so ill he had to go to local hospital.  The next day my dad and I were told to come in,, my mum couldn't say goodbye as she had her chemo the day before and refused to attend hospital because of covid..  We lost him in November,  and we are still struggling..especially mum who is still fighting her own battle with cancer still.. why us?? That's all  I keep thinking,  how much can we take. 

• Hi lollipop Cry