need practical advice - full time student carer

• 1 reply
  • 44 subscribers

I hate labels so much. As i mentioned im young, i have disabilities im a full time university student. But i need to use these words because i forget that people can’t understand if they don’t know.

Since my childhood i struggled a lot with my health and my mom became a my full time unpaid carer (i struggle with that label because in my family caring is not a role it’s just what family do- but i digress). without my mom, i wouldnt be here … she saved me. 

I haven’t fully recovered unfortunately I relapse sometimes and go non verbal at times of extreme stress. My mom has been diagnosed with grade 2 invasive ductal carcinoma breast cancer. Even that phrase scares me while i am typing it. She has strong family history of this cancer. The consultant said her treatment plan is lumpectomy then radiation.