Reality has hit.

• 6 replies
  • 46 subscribers

Hey guys

So my mum was diagnosed towards the end of last year. Her prognosis is good, and she is currently having chemo, followed up with radiotherapy.

I'm her main carer throughout her illness, with some support from my dad to take mum to some of her appointments while I'm at work. My sibling has been of limited practical help. 

The last 3 weeks or so, I think reality has caught up with me. I think the events of the last few months have caught up with me. I'm so worn out, I feel like I could burst into tears right at any minute if I stop and think. The feelings of fustration and annoyance at my sibling (everytime they get in contact it usually ends up with me ignoring the last message they send as I feel like I'm being patronised). 

I was isolated and lonely before my mum was diagnosed, but I feel more alone than ever. No one is really bothered about me. I'm doing a degree apprenticeships, so at uni, no one is bothered about me, they just like to sound off about their lives without any consideration of me. I'm also the student rep, and the other supposed student rep is no support at all. 

I think I'm close to hitting that brick wall. But I'm worried if I stop, I'll completely break down. 

I'm not expecting any replies, I just needed to sound off a bit. 

Thanks for reading. 

• So sorry you are going through this. I know a little of how you must feel from caring for my husband, and I have uni age sons. I feel sure that there will be a wellbeing service or similar at uni that you could go an talk to, who will have ideas about how to manage this alongside your apprenticeship.