Sad

• 3 replies
  • 45 subscribers

An elderly family member has just been diagnosed with an aggressive non-curable cancer. They don’t really seem to understand the implications and are happily talking about the treatment as if it will be a cure. Most of my other relatives are the other side of the world and only my sibling lives nearby. They get that it is serious but have a mindset of just looking ahead one day at a time and not getting stressed or upset. I’d love to do that, but I am a scientist. I spend all day looking at data and statistics and I am finding it impossible to ignore that the prognosis is so grim.

I can’t talk about it as I don’t want to put a dampener on my siblings way of coping. I just feel so upset and find myself crying whenever I am alone.

Now I find I don’t want to visit my sibling as I don’t know what to say or how to deal with any of this. If I am sad they say to forget about it and to focus on things being ok today, but when I try that they say they can see I am putting on an act. I just can’t work out how to truly be fine with it and to ignore it all as they do. It not like I want to be sad! 

• Hi  

Greeting from another scientist - sucks ok, scientists generally I find are dreadful at looking after their own health/safety/welfare - just get the job done clearly is the most important thing. 

Talking with family sucks - but you found the forum - why does typing at a complete stranger work - who knows - except it does somehow - perhaps someone should do some research - probably in the UK that might fall to MRC or ESRC.

Are you unusual - if we look at Your feelings when someone has cancer - it might seem not, in fact rather "normal" in our strange new world of normality anyway.

With my wife's cancer - I broke - later I did a living with less stress course. I learned the skill of how to live in the moment because someday my wife will die - but equally it could be me, have you seen the accident rates on the roads?