Crumbling and exhausted

• 1 reply
  • 43 subscribers

Hello everyone I am a sole carer for my husband with bladder cancer and other issues which is making him feel poorly and depressed. My fiercely independent 92 year old mum who lives 500miles away is becoming increasingly immobile angry and depressed and I am the only person she can 'vent'to on the phone often several times a day. I have two friends going through really difficult times who depend on me for support. I have just had cataract surgery and there are long term complications which makes driving difficult. I work as a proofreader and my eye issues makes this really hard, but we need the money. My old dog needs surgery. On top of this my husband's treatment has been messed up badly and I am putting together a massive legal claim for incompetence and malpractice. I am so tired from lack of sleep I am just reaching the end of my tether. I just need someone to occasionally say ' you know what missis, you are doing the best you can, and that is all you can do! Well done you!' 

1. Sorry to dump here, but it was good to write it all out, I have Asbperger's and sometimes it's very difficult to communicate how I feel or to ask for help.
  • Hey Su500...

Sorry to hear you are struggling so much.  That sounds like a lot to deal with all at once.  Well done for reaching out for help.  I see you have had some practical feedback and support on one of the other forums.

Being a carer for a spouse is exhausting - let alone all the other people who you are giving out to. 

You are welcome to dump here, but it sounds like you might need to make some changes before you break.