How can I best help them

• 3 replies
  • 44 subscribers

My Mum had a large abdominal lymphoma diagnosed last year. She completed her first round of chemotherapy, had her 6 week break from treatment but on review the lymphoma has come back, but has also spread. She isn't medical, doesn't want to know more than she needs to which is perfectly understandable, but how can I best support her and my Dad?  They are both in their 70's, I am a nurse working shifts, a Mummy and a wife ....my head feels so full xx

• Hi Emzie, what a horrible time for you and your family. Sorry to hear things are difficult. I don't know anything about lymphoma really but having supported my partner through 4 different kinds of chemo and immunotherapy I do know a little about that. You don't say if there are any other family members who are able to support as this would be my first thought. I have found the forums here to be very supportive and the helplines as well. Just having someone who can understand what you are all experiencing can be very helpful. The treatment centres often have a practical and emotional support centre nearby (ours is a Maggies) I just reached out to everyone in the virtual and real communities. They can also support you practically sometimes or advise you about support that could be available locally. Working the job you do and having your own family is busy enough, you definitely don't want to burnout. Each situation is unique and people handle things differently but there is support around. And this group in particular is a safe place that you will be heard and not judged. It is a really tough thing for everyone xx

• Thank you for taking the time to reply to my message.  I am very grateful.

I have a brother who lives abroad, and the rest of our family are spread throughout the UK.  

I think I feed overwhelmed with a sense of responsibility to do my best.  But I don't know what the best thing to do is xx