Any ideas? Getting ready for Chemotherapy

• 4 replies
  • 47 subscribers

Hi I'm new to all this.  My husband has advanced prostate cancer.  He has had lots of tests so far.  He is for an operation to  have turp  fitted end Jan.  Then starting 6 x 3 week session of chemotherapy.

Any help or advice on what I can do best help him or what to do in readiness  would be most appreciated.  Thanks in advance

• Hi  Chemo can be a long day in the chair so stock up on snacks and drinks to take. Something to keep them occupied such as tablet, book etc. Loose clothing to keep comfortable. Maybe slippers to take shoes off. Earplugs help to relax as there is a lot of noise going on. Make sure they take anti sickness tablets as prescribed. They are designed to help prevent nausea rather than stopping it if it happens. Chemo can cause mouth ulcers, so a good quality mouthwash  used regularly helps prevent this. Chemo can cause dehydration, so a bottle or glass of water at hand all times and encourage him to drink regularly. Water can be hard to take, so some people recommend a drop of lemon barley water to help get it down. Chemo can affect diet, so rather than big meals, small portions little and often. It also affects taste. I found hot and spicy foods helped, but that was my preference. I still love a Vindaloo. Some recommend sucking pineapple cubes help with taste. Hope this helps. Best wishes.

Best wishes to All,   rily.

Community Champion Badge

What is a Community Champion ?

• Hi  there's so much to learn isn't there?! My partner found chemotherapy fairly straightforward but admitted it was a drag. Most hospitals let someone sit with you - but that doesn't suit  everyone (I usually just waited till the cannula was in - once the drip was up and running he thought I should go off and do something more interesting! - but it helped me to get a sense of what was happening and say thanks to the nurses).