Scared

• 9 replies
  • 49 subscribers

I don’t really know where to begin.

My husband was diagnosed with stage 4 bowel cancer in October. It has also spread to his liver. He is only 43. We have two children who are 10 and 7.

He has already had an ileostomy. Three days before Christmas he had his first round of chemo.

If the chemo works then he will need an operation on his bowel and then his liver. The oncologist told us that at present the liver is inoperable and therefore uncurable.

Sometimes I feel positive and then I feel like it is so overwhelming. I am a teacher working two days a week and our children are very active with lots of clubs.

Since his operation my husband has been off work. I find it hard to manage our new life and our old life. I am determined to keep things as normal as possible for the children. My husband can be quite demanding at times and I don’t feel that he understands the pressure I am under. 

I cope. It’s what I always do. In reality I feel terrified, exhausted and lonely. 

Part of me wants to go and talk to someone but I feel there is no time. 

I wanted to make Christmas really special but in reality it has highlighted how hard the situation is.

I know tiredness doesn’t help but I want to help my husband, help our children and take some joy from our life if our time is limited. 

I just don’t know how x