New to caring and feeling overwhelmed

• 19 replies
  • 53 subscribers

I’ve just joined this forum , as my husband is newly diagnosed with rectal cancer 

He’s taken it quite well, but as an ex nurse, I know only too well the extent of the surgery he is having ( abdo perineal resection) 

I’m finding it hard to stay brave , I’m breaking my heart crying in private as I don’t want to upset him. My heart feels so heavy for him Broken heart

His radiotherapy/chemo starts this week, with his op scheduled for Late November. I know there’s nothing anyone can say or do really, but I just feel nobody quite understands what he ( or I) is going through. 

And if one more person tells me about ‘so and so who had *insert type of cancer* - few bits of radiotherapy and they’re right as rain now ! ‘
I swear to god I might punch them in the face Cry

yes I guess I’m angry as well as sad .

Thanks for listening to my rambling, I’m not making much sense at the moment I know x

• It's the hardest place I've been too. I don't sleep well which doesn't make life easier so some days feel worse than ever, but we'll find our way through it all xx

• It is a difficult place that we are all in. I know that my husband will die within the next few weeks.  He is my hero as he is so positive and is paving the way for me by explaining things I need to do after he has gone financial etc.  I am being brave for him too.  I just want his last few weeks to be happy and comfortable.  It’s just that sometimes it is hard not to feel self-pity.  You are all amazing and doing a fantastic job and yes we will get through this.