New to caring and feeling overwhelmed

• 19 replies
  • 58 subscribers

I’ve just joined this forum , as my husband is newly diagnosed with rectal cancer 

He’s taken it quite well, but as an ex nurse, I know only too well the extent of the surgery he is having ( abdo perineal resection) 

I’m finding it hard to stay brave , I’m breaking my heart crying in private as I don’t want to upset him. My heart feels so heavy for him Broken heart

His radiotherapy/chemo starts this week, with his op scheduled for Late November. I know there’s nothing anyone can say or do really, but I just feel nobody quite understands what he ( or I) is going through. 

And if one more person tells me about ‘so and so who had *insert type of cancer* - few bits of radiotherapy and they’re right as rain now ! ‘
I swear to god I might punch them in the face Cry

yes I guess I’m angry as well as sad .

Thanks for listening to my rambling, I’m not making much sense at the moment I know x

• Hello

you’re making perfect sense, being a partners carer results in a whirlwind of emotions. There really are no definitive answers. We can only do the very best for our partners, show them how much they are loved and be there for them. I do feel for you, I have been through the same journey, it’s tough, but also rewarding. 

I always was told “you’re doing better than you think” it didn’t feel like it at the time, but I believe it was true, just never believed I was doing enough Cold sweat

Sweat Linda You are my best memory, You are all of my best memories

• I totally get where you’re at…..I’m a mental health nurse, not physical and now I’m a palliative career to my dad and struggling. It might look like I’ve got it under control…but I just watered the greenhouse so I could have a good cry! And I’m so angry that my kind, strong thoroughly decent dad has to suffer this…

• Hi Nora

I am with you on the anger.