Newly diagnosed mum

• 8 replies
  • 48 subscribers

Hey guys,

I’m a newbie here. It’s 3.50am and I’m struggling to sleep. My lovely mum was diagnosed last Monday and I’m struggling to process that this is happening. They are struggling to find the primary but suspect upper GI somewhere. They have taken biopsies from the odentum and peritoneum and have found cells so are saying it has spread. She will be starting chemo in a few weeks. 

They’ve said they can’t cure but to see this as chronic disease. Has anyone else had experiences like these? They can’t tell us how long she’s got which I’m struggling with, is it 6 months, 6 years? 

She’s so fit, well and active. I just can’t believe it’s happening to her. 

i turn 31 next month, and my partner and I had talked about having a baby next year or the year after but now I feel we should just get on with it so she can have as much time with a grandchild as possible. She’s always wanted to be a grandma! Has anyone else had these feelings when a parent is diagnosed?

thanks xxxxxxx

• Sorry I pressed enter way to soon! 

I'm so sorry to hear about your mum, I'm a similar age and my mum has also been diagnosed but is in a slightly different situation to yours as hers is much more advanced. 

The doctor's will be apprehensive to give a timescale as often it depends on the type of cancer, where it is, and the response of treatments. 

I know it's so, so hard. It's emotionally draining and something you never think will happen to you.

If you ever want to chat, please message me. I totally understand what you're going through. 

Lots of love Purple heart

• Thanks  so great to hear

from someone who has the same feelings. They’re talking now about a possibility of cancer of unknown primary. I did a very stupid thing of googling that and have found numbers like 6-12months survival?! I just can’t believe that could be true. She’s so well at the moment.