Optician Visit Tears

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 12 replies
  • 28 subscribers

Hello everyone.  13 months down the line from my lovely wife Lynn’s passing, lately I’ve been okay, not cried for weeks in fact best I have been.   
So far so good until I visited the opticians for an eye test, the only shop open in view amongst a dystopian feeling deserted town.   

Whilst waiting for my appointment quite out of the blue I felt an intense feeling of loneliness bringing on tears by the bucket, things improved little sitting in the opticians chair. In hindsight shouldn’t of gone.  My trigger I recon was looking for Lynn out of habit, she’s not sitting by me, looked around, can’t see her anywhere?  Does time make things easier to manage, I thought I was getting better.

Thank you for listening, just wanted to tell someone what happened.

Peter xx

• Hi Peter

I’m fairly new to this with my husband passing only a week ago but from what I can gather reading earlier posts this is very normal. 
    I’m glad you are able to come on here and express how you feel. I certainly get exactly what that was like for you at the opticians. Not necessarily a place you’d expect to start you off and then bang there it is! 
    They do say time helps and I hope so because I’m longing for this awful achy pain, the elephant on my chest, this constant sickly feeling and loneliness to ease! 
    I cant ever at this point, imagine it going. 
    xx

• Hello. It's 140 days since I lost my husband. One of the unexpected things that tipped me over the edge was seeing Frosties on the shelves on one of my rate trips to the supermarket. We'd struggled to get them all through lockdown for some strange reason and now I didn't need to worry any more. Seems it's the strangest and most unexpected things that can reduce us to tears. You're not alone.

Take care xx

• Good morning,

7 weeks today for me, Tuesday at 12 noon not a good time, plan to go for a walk at that time today.