How much time off work after the death of my mum

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 12 replies
  • 19 subscribers

I lost my wonderful mum to lung cancer on Sunday. She had suffered terribly in the last 3 weeks and myself and my sisters cared for her. Her funeral isn't until a week on Wednesday and I am really struggling with when I should go back to work? I work as a carer myself caring for elderly residents with dementia . how long did everyone else take off work?

• Not before the funeral then whenever you feel you can manage it finances permitting, I'm sorry you lost your mumma xx

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Sorry for your loss I lost my mom last month its totally life changing, I have found going back to work hard myself, though I'm lucky I work for myself so I can pick and choose what days I do, I hope you have understanding employers behind you xx 

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Sorry to hear of your mums passing. I lost my dad to primary lung cancer and secondary brain cancer on 10th April. My gp originally signed me off with bereavement for 2 weeks then increased it to 4. I cared for my dad allot in the last 2 weeks of his life. We have had the funeral and I picked up his ashes today. I feeleach day gets a bit easier and feel I will be ready to go back to work on the 8th of May. Everyone is different so it would be when you feel ready and I would say don't rush it.

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi Kaymi,

I'm so sorry for your loss.

With going back to work, it all depends on the individual person but I would advise not to go back before the funeral as from experience its best to let what has happened sink in and give yourself time to grieve. After that, it all depends how you feel and when you feel ready to go back.