Low white blood cell count injections and pain

• 6 replies
  • 86 subscribers

Hi everyone, I’m a newbie to the group but am struggling with pain and walking and wondered if it’s just another delight of endometrial cancer treatment!
I was diagnosed with endometrial cancer in November 2023 and had a radical hysterectomy in January 2024. After 6 weeks surgery recovery I began radiotherapy daily for 6 weeks, with 2 chemo rounds of cisplatin during that time. I had an allergic reaction to the cisplatin and phase 2 of my chemo treatment is being done very slowly as a result, so 2 x 6 hour days back to back to deliver carboplatin and paclitaxol on different days. Before my last chemo round last week I was told that my white blood cell count was low and I would have to inject drugs after chemo to encourage my bone marrow to produce more for a few days. I was already struggling with joint and muscle pain from the chemo, but the injections made that much worse and I’m finding sleeping very hard as I can’t get comfortable. My walking has also been affected as it feels like my hips and knees won’t support me and is painful too.

I was just wondering if this was anyone else’s experience and any suggestions to cope with the exhaustion of chemo exacerbated by not sleeping. It’s so reassuring to read through the community responses and questions, so thank you in advance to anyone who responds.

• Hi Gilli

Welcome to the Online Community and the Womb group.

I am sorry to hear of your endometrial cancer.

I also had chemotherapy (carboplatin and paclitaxel) and then external beam radiotherapy afterwards.

I was neutropenic a few times but they did come up in time for chemo each time and I did not have the injections. I was just told that if they were lower than they should be, that chemo would be postponed.