I'm a terrified newbie, hello

• 3 replies
  • 85 subscribers

Hello, I've just been diagnosed with womb cancer and waiting for MRI on Sunday which will have been nearly 2 weeks. I just don't know how to cope - how does everyone manage?! I feel so down and negative... My body feels so different since diagnosis, like I'm crumbling and my mind too. I suffer from anxiety and hate looking in the mirror right now. I obsess about my weight dropping off and feeling weak. Speaking to Macmillan Nurse a couple of days ago was so helpful and everyday, around midday, I have an absolute tumble and my poor husband has to watch we..

Is this normal or am I being extreme?

Thank you x

• Hi Boo1, welcome to the group and to this emotional roller coaster ride. It’s totally normal and okay to feel anxious and all over the place on a daily basis, but, with support we can learn to get a handle on it and find what we need to cope each day and cope well. And you can too. It’s a weird feeling to know that something’s amiss inside even though we may look okay on the surface. Well done for reaching out to the Macmillan nurse - if that helped, do it again! I first phoned my CNS the day I received my diagnosis, and after that probably phoned her 2-3 times a week, and phoned the Macmillan helpline at weekends or evenings, sometimes just to say that I was anxious. How old are you? I’d advise you not to Google at all but to stick to reliable sites like Macmillan. Also only tell those who need to know and whose reactions you can trust to be helpful - I hardly told anyone!