Newbie here

• 10 replies
  • 87 subscribers

Good morning 

after a CT and MRI I have been told I need a full hysterectomy after they found an 11cm mass. During the conversation with the consultant there was chat about cancer and sarcoma. 
I was then assigned a clinical nurse who I asked - can the MRI tell if it’s cancer or not. She said they can suspect but not tell for sure until the operation.

Would I have been assigned a clinical nurse if they didn’t suspect cancer?

do I just have to wait in constant pain until the operation (probably late September or early October? 
mum so stressed and don’t really know what to tell family .

• Hello Joanne Louise

Welcome to the Online Community.

I am sorry to hear that a mass was found in your uterus after your CT and MRI. I can understand how scary it must have been to be told that. It is good that you have been assigned a clinical nurse and are able to ask questions when you need to. Mine were brilliant. She is right though that unless there is a biopsy before hand- no one can tell exactly what you are dealing with until the post op pathology comes back. I am not sure why you have not been offered a biopsy before hand and can only think that because of the size of the mass that has been found then the hysterectomy would perhaps naturally be the next step? There may well be other reasons for the mass but I would have thought that whatever it was would need to be removed. The consultants by nature are so experienced that they would already have a good idea just from the scans. Mine did.