New to this

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 5 replies
  • 87 subscribers

Hello,  newbie here.

Thought I would share my journey to date.

Suffered heavy long periods for many years. Decided enough was enough and saw my gp who sent me to our local gynae department at the hospital.

Initially I had a vaginal ultrasound which was confirmed I had a polyp on my womb and a cyst in my ovary.

I had a hysteroscopy  3 weeks ago where they removed several polyps and my consultant was lovely. She had noted she would see me in four months as a follow up.

Until I received a letter last week for a fast track appointment back to gynae.

Today I was told I had precancerous EIN and also a cancerous polyp stage 1.

I have been told that they don't feel I need a body scan or anything like that as they think it is localised ...but I will be having a hysterectomy via keyhole.

I have a meeting with the surgeon next week as the MDT team has already had their meeting.

I knew that there had to be something as it wasn't rocket science that a letter that quick to get me back would be good news.

I feel better in some way that now I know, but the anxiety has now changed and I wonder what if they miss something by not having a scan? 

Just not sure what to be thinking at the moment.

• Hello Birdie22

Welcome to our group. We've all been in the same place wondering what if?, why me? and living constantly in a state of high anxiety.

It sounds like your gynae team  are on the ball. Once you've had your hysterectomy, anything removed will be analysed and then you may find you need some further treatment so I wouldn't worry too much about not having had a scan at the moment.