Going back on HRT after hysterectomy?

• 9 replies
  • 64 subscribers

Hi, I’ve been using HRT patches for 3 years, until recently diagnosed with endometrial cancer. I’ve just got my histology results back after a total hysterectomy and the good news is it’s confirmed as stage 1A, grade 1. I stopped using HRT patches when diagnosed and my menopause symptoms quickly returned (I feel like I haven’t slept properly for weeks!!). I asked the consultant about resuming HRT (lowest dose oestrogen only patch) and they didn’t really offer a clear opinion, only to say it wasn’t contra-indicated. I’ve seen today from the appointment write up that my cancer was ER positive, so responded to oestrogen.

I’m wondering if any of you have gone back on HRT after hysterectomy with ER positive cancer? I can’t quite decide if the benefits outweigh the risks at the moment - I’d quite lack to go back on HRT as there are other long term benefits (as well as sleep!) but if I’m potentially susceptible to ER cancers then not sure it’s worth it??

Thanks!

• My cancer is endometrial stromal sarcoma, when I first had my hysterectomy they put me in HRT,as my cancer is rare and not enough information to say otherwise. My cancer came back in my lungs, fed by the HRT so please do your research and ask as many questions as possible. 

Chelle 

Try to be a rainbow,in somebody else's cloud
    Maya Angelou

Community Champion badge
  • Hi Vixx

Am pleased you have got your pathology results back and they are showing early stage and grade.

My cancer was ER/PR positive and I was told that HRT was not advised. 

I wonder whether it is worth giving it time to see if your hormones settle after the hysterectomy before making a decision. My concern would be that if oestrogen originally fed your cancer what could happen if you started taking it again. You could discuss with your doctor as to whether any other forms of HRT might be better or whether there are any safer alternatives.