Working through treatment

• 23 replies
  • 67 subscribers

Hi everyone, this is my first post so bear with me!

I'm in my early twenties, diagnosed with endometrial cancer currently having oral chemo and hormone treatment to shrink.

At the moment- I'm feeling ok. Not too many nasty side effects, just a sore mouth, tiredness and no appetite. It's early days but so far very manageable and I feel lucky.

I work in a school and it's my whole world. I love my job and it's such a positive distraction for me at the moment. I think it contributes massively to my positive mindset. My medical team have said that working is my decision ultimately and is fine as long as I feel able to do so. I totally recognise that there may be a time where I need to take time off and am reassessing this every day. If I wake up feeling rubbish, I'll call in sick. Totally aware that I need to come first, not work.

Disclosed my diagnosis to management who have been very supportive and want to refer me to occupational health for an assessment. I appreciate that they are trying to support me, find out if I need any adjustments in the workplace and that they have a duty of care to me but as it stands, I've had no time off and am fit and able to do my job. If I hadn't had told them, they'd have no idea I was poorly. At work I appear fine.