Immunotherapy (Keytruda) and Lenvatinib

• 10 replies
  • 64 subscribers

I am due to start immunotherapy treatment with Keytruda plus a drug called Lenvatinib. Has anyone had this treatment? Potential side effects look quite scary so wondered how people fared with this?

• I have no experience of immunotherapy but wanted you to know you are not alone and hopefully someone on the site will have experience of it. Have you spoken to your medical team about the likelihood of the side effects? I remember reading what Jane2511 has written about what she was told about the side effects of chemotherapy, stating that they lost everything but most people don't get all of these side effects. X

• Thank you. Oncologist said there was no way to predict side effects- just had to try it and see - as everyone is different. Feeling very alone at moment so thank you for responding x

• Hi Shanlan.

I started an immunotherapy drug called Dostarlimab in late January and like you was terrified as told about possible scary side effects. But I've just had cycle 5, and so far just feeling cold is the worse it's been sometimes after my evening meal, so I just  layer up, and check temp is ok which it always is. 

Just remember you will be closely supported with a 24 hour phone number, you will be reviewed every cycle and bloods taken. Good luck.