Waiting for biopsy

• 8 replies
  • 27 subscribers

Hi everyone. I’m new to this form. I had breast cancer three years ago and now I’ve been fast tracked to check for vulva cancer. I’m terrified. I don’t have a lump but I have suffered from recurrent itchiness and I have a red patch with thicker edges on my labia minora. I don’t know how long I’ve had it as my husband only noticed as couple of months ago. It took me a month to get a doctors appointment and she had fast tracked me. I’m going for a consult and biopsy on Friday and honestly I’m so scared that as I haven’t noticed it it’s invading everywhere. Doom and gloom at the moment.  After the breast cancer my head is going straight there. Has anyone else had this red patch/ulcer?  It’s not sore at all but it’s still scaring me. Thanks for any advice x

• Hi Imarah, 

Im sorry to hear your news. As you’re having the biopsy done I would wait for your results before assuming the worst. It could be one of two things by the sounds of how you’re describing it. I had what’s you’re describing and it looked something like a mouth ulcer on my vulva and I had vulva cancer but after removing the area and both groin lymph nodes I didn’t need further treatment as it was grade 1B cancer, so hadn’t spread to lymph nodes. My mother also has something that looks like this but hers isn’t cancer but it’s something called Lichen Sclerosis with is itchy and white patchy lumps on external vulva and labia minora  so hopefully you could have this which is treated with ointments only. 

Keeping my fingers crossed for you and hoping it’s not cancerous. 
    This site has helped me as people know what you’re dealing with so feel free to talk when needed on here

take care