Vaginal cancer / 62 days passed no word

• 3 replies
  • 3 subscribers

I'm very new to this, and I keep reading other people's stories and some are similar to mine. my 62 days are up and although I’ve been told I’ve got vaginal cancer that’s all I know every test has been done. I still haven’t heard anything and no date in sight. Can anyone help?

• Hi  and welcome to the group.

I’m sorry you haven’t heard any updates yet. It might be helpful to add some details to your profile so that members in the group know what tests and/or scans you have already had to see if anyone could offer any advice for you.

Do you know what kind of treatment or surgery you are expecting to have? I know from my own experience of my original diagnosis and recurrence that the targets were not met in my case on either occasion. 

Do you have a CNS who you can call to ask for an update? Normally you will receive details of your named nurse following a cancer diagnosis and it would be worth checking with them on what’s happening. If you don’t know who your named nurse is, you could try calling the gynaecology department and ask to be put in touch with the CNS. 

It must be difficult being left in this limbo, and I’d certainly want to be giving them a nudge in your position. Please let us know how you get on and if there’s anything else you’d like to ask about or share in the group.

Sarah xx

Community Champion Badge

Cervical Cancer Forum

Macmillan Support Line - 0808 808 00 00, 7 days a week between 8am-8pm

• Thank you Sarah for replying I didn't realize I hadn't but anything on my profile. I have updated that and added a post with the same details.

I was given a letter with the names of 2 nurses but I'm not sure how they can help as it the doctors who need to make the appointment when they know anything.