Newly diagnosed.

• 2 replies
  • 12 subscribers

Hi, I'm completely new to this,

A few weeks ago I found a lump on the left walnut, finally got a doctors appointment and it just snowballed from there, scans, meetings, phone calls. I. Now booked in for me operation to remove the left walnut, as there is enough to say its something sinister and needs to go.

Along with this I have been dealing with another health condition for 15 yrs and it turns out it makes it tougher to deal with me (lucky me). 

I always make a laugh and a joke about things as it's my way of dealing with it all, always has been. Why I call it a walnut instead of testicle.  Hate being to serious.

But inside I'm bricking it and struggling to shut off thinking about it. 

You are all super strong amazing people, so thought I would finally ask for some advice.

Thanks in advance. 

• As a carer of my 29 year old son (diagnosed 2 years ago with non-seminoma and now dealing with a suspected new "thing" in the remaining testicle) I can only give you the following advice:

Make sure, you take ownership and control over all information relating to your your diagnosis, treatment(s) and follow-up years afterwards. Whether you do this yourself or have someone you trust (mum, dad, partner, friend, carer...) is not relevant.

Sometimes it might help if there is someone. Simply because you - as the patient - will be overwhelmed and perhaps not digest all the information. I think this is a normal reaction and possibly a mechanism to protect yourself.

Without knowing your background: The walnut removal itself is not a big issue. One can live with one testicle without problems. Some lucky patients (depends on cancer type, stage etc.) only need this surgery and just require monitoring/surveillance afterwards. Others may need more treatment later (chemo or radio, and/or other surgery). But cross this bridge when - or if - you come to it.