Recently diagnosed prostate cancer Gleason 7

• 9 replies
  • 167 subscribers

Hi,

I hope you are well. 

I’m a newbie and just been diagnosed with the above at the ripe age of 42 years old. In the results meeting they advised me to go for complete removal of my prostate and mentioned the other option is radio therapy. I’ve taken the news better than I expected however it appears to be a minefield in terms of making a decision. I’ve got three kids and happy with what I have. My concern is longevity, quality of life and understanding the downsides to both removal and radiotherapy. Including recovery. 

I am hoping the community can offer me an insight into the above. 

thanks

Weezie1982

• Good Morning Again  

Welcome to the Macmillan Online Prostate Community - we are a decent bunch!!

Yours is the $64000 dollar question and as a Gleason 7 with no spread you should have the choice of 3 treatment routes - Surgery to Remove, Hormone/Radiotherapy and Brachytherapy (this isn't available everywhere).

The honest answer is the choice of treatments is personal to you and how you see the side effects affecting your life. The best way to decide is to get your self a pen and paper (or I-Pad as you are young) and list the pros and cons of each treatment as to how they could affect YOU. 

Use trusted sources for your information, Macmillan - Prostate Cancer UK and the Community (Never Dr Google). Here's a few links to get you started:

Surgery - https://www.macmillan.org.uk/cancer-information-and-support/treatments-and-drugs/prostatectomy-for-prostate-cancer

HT/RT - https://www.macmillan.org.uk/cancer-information-and-support/treatments-and-drugs/hormonal-therapy-for-prostate-cancer and https://www.macmillan.org.uk/cancer-information-and-support/treatments-and-drugs/radiotherapy-for-prostate-cancer

Brachytherapy - https://www.macmillan.org.uk/cancer-information-and-support/treatments-and-drugs/brachytherapy-for-prostate-cancer