1st PSA test after SRT

• 7 replies
  • 111 subscribers

Hi everyone,

Well I said I would update once I got my first blood test after Salvage radiotherapy.

To recap had radical prostatectomy Nov 2023

PSA 9 weeks after RP was 0.10 and climbed to 0.22 by mid March 2024

Elected for SRT.

Started 20 fractions on 21st May and completed 18th June.

PSA was checked on day of 1st fraction (21st May) and it was 0.25

PSA checked 14th Aug which was 8 weeks from last fraction and has dropped to 0.09

Delighted with this !! Nurse said it could take a few more 3 month readings to come down and that it is only 8 weeks from last radiotherapy session. Have my meeting with oncologist 20th Sept so hopefully he will be happy. Next blood test mid Nov.

I'm no expert in PSA tests but from what I have researched, stats suggest that getting a score <0.1 on first blood test post SRT is a good result.

Anyone out there have had similar experience or can add any thoughts?

Cheers!!

• Looks great One

Can't get much lower.

although my PSa has been going down very slowly since my 2017 treatment it's not as low as that.

I presume you are not on HT as well.

Long may it continue .

Best wishes

Steve 

• Definitely a good result to have an early reduction of PSA to 0.1 with the target to reach this level within 6 months of salvage radiotherapy. For anyone interested in the subject then I have attached a link. This article suggests having salvage radiotherapy gives best results when the PSA following prostatectomy is below 0.2. Another article suggests that the risk of a future recurrence after salvage radiotherapy may be associated with perineural invasion and is associated with seminal vesicle involvement amongst other things.

https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/0284186X.2017.1364869

https://bmcurol.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12894-023-01323-5

• Good Evening  

That's great news, long may your PSA continue to drop. I love posts and threads with good news.