Testosterone

• 8 replies
  • 114 subscribers

Hello all. My first contribution to the group. Just a summary by comparison. I had my prostate removed in October 2022. Gleason 4+3. Margins clear but a lymph node between my aorta and spin showed cancer. I had cyber knife radiotherapy in December 2023 which seems to have cleared the node. Since the prostate removal and after the first PSA blood test my PSA has continued to go up until it’s now .54. Discussed having intermittent hormone therapy which may start in September. To be confirmed. 
my query is around testosterone. I have been a weight trainer/lifter since a teenager ( I’m 65 now) and still train hard. I try to eat a fair amount of protein. My question is am I harming myself. Exercise increases testosterone which in turn feeds the cancer. 
it’s causing me stress and a dilemma. Anyone in the same position or have the same concerns. 

• You are correct that testosterone feeds PCa and exercise does cause a small, temporary rise in testosterone.  But it doesn't matter if your T level is 200 or 700. Either is more than enough to satisfy the needs of the PCa. So a small daily variation need not concern you.

But the benefits of exercise when it comes to your health can not be overstated. This is especially true if you have prostate cancer. Study after study confirms this. Don't stress about your hard work outs. Take comfort in the fact it is helping you.

If you start HT your testosterone  should decrease to a level below 20 ng/dL. This is low enough to starve the PCa. At this point your workouts will be more important than ever. Weight gain is very common for men on HT.  Exercise is the best thing you can do to counter this. That, and make your diet a strict priority.

I wish you well.