Post radical prostatectomy fatigue?

• 8 replies
  • 110 subscribers

Hello - I had a radical prostatectomy last November and so far it looks to have picked up all the cancer. I began swimming in March and built up to 1,600 metres very quickly with the aim that by the time I reached the 6 weeks point I'd be getting pretty fit. However, I started getting very, very tired. I took 2 weeks off and started swimming again, but limiting swims to 800 metres. A much less demanding swim but I still get very tired afterwards and need to sleep. During last year, and leading up to surgery, I swam regularly and never felt as tired or worn out post swim as I do now. Is post surgical fatigue likely to at work here? And, if so, for how long? 

Many thanks.   

• Hello  and welcome.

I have no experience of prostatectomy and fatigue but what I was wondering was whether you have had a blood test recently to check for anaemia. Your body has been through a lot with the surgery and it can take a while to get back in to balance.

• Hi again  .

I have brought this to the top in the hope that someone else might respond. I have also added a link which indicates that it may take several months to get back to normal fitness for some men but basically exercise when you can and listen to your body is their advice.

https://prostatecanceruk.org/prostate-information-and-support/treatments/surgery#:~:text=Some%20men%20get%20fatigue%20(extreme,when%20you%20feel%20able%20to.

• Thank you very much for taking the time to reply to my post. Your advice is really helpful. 

• Good Afternoon  

A belated warm welcome to the online Prostate Cancer Community from me - I am sorry to find you here but it's a great place for help and advice. 

I am surprised at the lack of replies you have received knowing how many Community Members we have who have had surgery, I can't answer your question myself as I am still the proud owner of a prostate (minus a few chips!!).