Clinical trials

• 7 replies
  • 111 subscribers

I’ve been referred to the Royal Marsden with a view to joining a clinical trial for prostate cancer. Anyone out ther had experience of this?  I must say I’m somewhat worried as it is a new pathway for me

• I have little experience of clinical trials and none at all of these with prostate cancer. Often, in a clinical trial you will perhaps find that there will be two ( if not more) groups with one group being given a trial treatment and the other not. You most likely will not know to which group you will be assigned ie the trial is ‘blind or double blind’. The Royal Marsden is highly respected for its cancer work. All trials are strictly monitored etc and you will be given all the information possible before being enrolled. Good luck with it and I will be interested to hear how it goes and what it involves.

• Thanks. Will keep you posted

• Hi

Suppose depends what the clinical trial is/involves and also what your situation is regarding spread/stats etc.

Regards

Steve 

• I have recently been diagnosed and have been asked if I would like to take part in a clinical trial. It is called PART. Partial Prostate Ablation versus radical treatment. Partial Ablation only treats one side of the prostate with high intensity Focused ultra sound and irreversible electoporation. These treatments give most fewer side effects than the radical treatments. The study aims to have 800 affected men throughout the UK to take part. It is a randomised study so you may be picked fir the Partial Ablation or the radical treatments. I have been asked to consider taking part although I have Intermediate risk cancer. I am a little confused why, as the study should only be for low risk cancer. I am still unsure which treatment would be best for me. I have an appointment to see a radiologist and another to see a consultant running this study.