Prostap Injection

• 16 replies
  • 110 subscribers

Just had my my 4th injection and again it has come up as a hard red lump that is painful to touch, When I mention this it's just passed over and they carry on with the injection. Has anybody else had the same problem or it the way it's mixed or administered and can it be done in another way or do I need to see if I can change to another type. This problem makes me wonder if it is actually working as it should.

reg 

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hello Reg

And welcome to the prostate group.

I see that as yet you’ve had no replies, and I’ve only just noticed your post.

I’m afraid I have no experience of the Prostap injection although I’ve had (and given) many injections in my time just never Prostap.

Obviously I have not observed what you describe and I am not in a position to offer you a definitive or complete answer.

Inflammation at the injection site it seems is a common problem with the Prostap injection.

Inflammation is recognised by five principle signs, redness, swelling, hardness, pain and heat.

If inflammation occurs, it does not mean the treatment needs changing.

According to Cancer Research UK  Inflammation is a known side effect and

“Tell your nurse if you notice any signs of redness or irritation around the injection site.”

I would also tell them you are very worried about it and ask if anything needs to be done.

I hope this reassures you.

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi mate, well I have been having a prostrap injection for over two years now and can honestly say I have never had any kind of reaction to it. The nurse tends to inject in to the stomach each time but as I say never had a problem with it, just a silly question but do you collect the kit from the chemist your self? If you do where do you store it prior to the injection, I keep mine in the fridge for about 72 hours before the date to be injected. Maybe thats worth a try I am just guessing there.