BRACHYTHERAPY

• 12 replies
  • 109 subscribers

Hi,

Anyone here with experience of Low Dose Brachytherapy?  I am particularly interested in side effects  and when they occurred and overall experience of the procedure and the months following the procedure.

Thanks

• Hi

I can't help with your question but I noticed that your post had gone unanswered. It may be that no one has the experience you're looking for or just that your post hasn't been seen by the right person. By replying it will bump your post back to the top of the page where it'll hopefully be seen by someone with the experience you're after.

I'm also going to tag this group's new Community Champion into my reply as hopefully he'll be able to help or point you in the right direction.

x

Community Champion Badge

"Never regret a day in your life, good days give you happiness, bad days give you experience"

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi Freefaller, I'm afraid I have no experience of brachytherapy myself.  I do know that sometimes it's done on its own, which I believe is usually High Dose (HDR) and sometimes it's done in conjunction with external beam radiation. (EBR).

I have also heard it is as effective as EBR or surgery, but possibly with less side effects.

Other than that you may find this web page very helpful

www.macmillan.org.uk/.../brachytherapy.html

• Thank you once again.  I had tried to download this from the Macmillan website previously but failed - I think my computer needs a kick up the wotsit as not working as it used to.  However your link worked so have downloaded it.

Thanks

Des

• Just a slight correction Uroborus

LDR  (radioactive seeds) is normally done on it's own.

HDR is often done in conjunction with EB radiotherapy.

Regards

Steve

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to Grundo

Thanks Steve

I guess it's the WHOLE dose that's HDR i.e. internal plus external, if internal only it's LDR

• FormerMember
    FormerMember in reply to freefaller