taxis and wearing incontinence pants

FormerMember
FormerMember
  • 7 replies
  • 106 subscribers

Would a taxi driver take you home from hospital if they knew that you wear incontinence pants.  Has anybody had any experience ?

• Hi old timer, I’ve had no experience of this. But why would a taxi driver know if you were wearing incontience pants. And even if he/she did they would be obligated to take you to your destination, unless they wanted to be hit with a disability discrimination claim.

Best regards 

Mally

Don't let your good days be spoilt by the worry of a bad day, that may or may not come along.

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi

Good question and I can only give you an answer from the driving seat.

I was a taxi driver for many years and the company I worked with had contracts with various care facilities and I would often be called to care home to take a resident and carer to the shops or medical appointments.

The carers would always have with them protective disposable chair pads which they placed on the seat the resident would be using obviously the resident must have suffered from incontinence, I wasn't given the option of accepting or declining the journey but the good news I never experienced any little accidents.

I would suggest that when booking the taxi you inform the controller that you suffer from incontinence due to a medical problem and that you will be carrying chair pads to cover the seats.

All taxi companies reserve the right and it is normally part of the tariff that soiling a seat will incur an extra charge, when I stopped driving 9 years ago the charge was £50.

It was the people picked up on the street who "peed" the seat and did not inform me that annoyed me as often the first I knew of it was when another passenger got in the car and discovered a wet seat.

Be up front with the taxi company and tell them, one driver may refuse but another will take you as you are showing willing by carrying disposable seat pads.