Introduction

• 2 replies
  • 69 subscribers

Hello from Texas. I’ve been a follower, but this is my first post. 
I was diagnosed with Acral letiginous melanoma in April 2022. I had an injury on ball of foot that I could not heal. I’m a Nurse, so I know how to care for wounds. It eventually ulcerated & my PCP sent me to a Dermatologist- I was staged at III B. I had the wide excision & a positive sentinel lymph node. After surgery healing & graft healing, I started immunotherapy (Provo every 4 weeks). I discontinued after 8 months-scans were clear & I had some bad side effects. 6 weeks later, another positive node. This time 3 doses of keytruda, followed by surgery. The node tumor grew in size by 3 times, so Doc discontinued keytruda. 3 months later clear scans, but 3 months after, another positive node. Another surgery 8 weeks ago. All of my right initial/ileac nodes are removed. I just had my next set of scans 2 days ago. Yesterday I found out I have metastasis to my right lung, abdominal wall & 3 masses throughout intestines. I’ve restated at IV C.  I’m starting combo immunotherapy on Saturday.  I’m still kinda shell shocked Flushed 

• Hi  and a very warm welcome to the melanoma forum which I hope you'll find is both an informative and supportive place to be.

It sounds like you've been through a lot over the two years since you were first diagnosed and I can understand you still feeling shell shocked.

There are quite a few Stage 4 melanoma people in this group and I'm sure they'll be happy to answer any questions you may have and share their experiences with you.