Just saying hello

• 9 replies
  • 66 subscribers

Hi all,

My name is Claire and although I was diagnosed with stage 2B melonoma back in April I have only just been brave enough to post a note. I have never used any form of social media before. That makes me sound like a dinosaur and I suppose it is not strictly true if you count WhatsApp. I think now might be the time to brave the new world so that I can connect with some folks going through the same thing. I have updated my profile with my story so far. Keen to find out if anybody else has experience long waiting times. Is there NHS targets for these things? Fingers crossed I can work out how to respond if anybody talks to me!

• Hello Claire123 and welcome to the melanoma forum.  I'm sad to hear about your diagnosis of stage 2b melanomlast April.  What's been happening since then ? 

Have you started any treatments yet? Scans? 

If you can do WhattsApp hon then you can do this one.  It's easyish to navigate and ask anyone of us for help, we've all been there.

We are a friendly lot on here and lots of support is on offer too xx

• Unfortunately nothing much has been happening since then just a lot of waiting and some worrying. I eventually got an appointment for a WLE and SNLB for Tuesday 19th of April and after 4 hours at the hospital they sent me home as it was too hot in theatres. I have managed to update my story in the profile section (I hope!)

• Sorry that date of April should have read July!!

• Ahh that’s a ridiculous wait have you a new date yet xx 

• When they sent me home they said it would be next week. I am keeping everything crossed that the letter arrives soon. 

• Hi and another welcome to the online community which I hope you'll find is both an informative and supportive place to be.

Like you, I was diagnosed with Stage 2b melanoma on my upper arm although mine was nearly 6 years ago now.