Not sure if I am allowed here. Awaiting mole removal/biopsy

• 20 replies
  • 74 subscribers

Hi

I am not sure whether I should post here, however looking for some support from people who have been in my shoes.

I noticed a mole that had changed on my left breast just before christmas. It has gone from a normal looking mole to one with distinct black marks running through it. I am a Nurse so immediately contacted my GP who referred me to hospital on the two week wait pathway. I was seen by a Nurse in dermatology 2 weeks ago who looked at the mole and requested a second opinion. The consultant had a look under the dermascope and spoke to the Nurse about what he could see (using medical jargon so I had absolutely no idea!) The only thing I could understand is that it looked 'chaotic' and he then said he would be 'very very concerned' if we did not remove it. Queue my panic!

I signed some paperwork for an excision and was advised I would be called back in within 4 weeks for removal and then biopsy results would be another 4 weeks. On the outside I am calm, coping, optimistic, however on the inside I just have this gut feeling that it is not going to be good news (I have been experiencing arm pit pain on the same side for quite some time and obviously I am linking the two).

I am not really sure what I am writing this for, perhaps someone to validate my anxiety about having to wait, not knowing what is going on! I feel like everyone around me is carrying on as normal but I just can't escape this constant overthinking!

Lots of love to everyone x

• FormerMember
    FormerMember

Hi Newbie 1992,

A warm welcome to this forum although none of us want to be here it is a great help to read of the experiences of others and share tips.

This is a worrying time for you but remember not everyone gets bad news and for those that do there are a lot more options for melanoma patients now.