• 15 replies
  • 74 subscribers

Hi everyone, I am new to this, I had my diagnosis last Tuesday, wide local extraction Friday just gone, and am waiting for the results to come back, it's a whirlwind, 

I suppose my question is did anyone else have a diagnosis by just looking at it. Some people have told me it's impossible but why would a doctor tell me, she looked me in my face with extreme compasion and told me yes I'm afraid you do and she said I will need more than one operation. It's just confused me, I don't want to be in denial as I think it will affect me more if it's is, I don't want to tell to many people as I feel a fraud.

Hope everyone is having a good day ️

• Hi and a very warm welcome to the online community although I'm sorry you've had to join us.

My honest answer is that I don't know if a dermatologist can be absolutely sure that a lesion is a melanoma just by looking at it but I guess an experienced one can be pretty sure from previous experiences. 

I do know that it can happen the other way around as my dermatologist said my lesion was nothing to worry about but then it came back as melanoma!

I think you're probably right though that they can't be 100% sure until the results come back from the path labs, so I'm sorry that your dermatologist has turned out to be correct. 

You are fortunate to have had your wide local excision (WLE) so quickly as most people have to wait between 2-4 weeks after their excision biopsy.

I'm assuming as well that your melanoma is at an early stage, ie not very deep as you don't mention having a sentinel lymph node biopsy (SLNB) at the same time as having your WLE, or did you choose not to have it?

Please don't feel that you're a fraud telling people that you have been diagnosed with melanoma! On the other hand you can choose who you want to tell or not tell. I decided to tell all my friends so they would understand why I was no longer sitting in the sun, etc..

Do you have a date for the results of your WLE?

x