Covid - risk of catching in school setting?????

• 7 replies
  • 58 subscribers

Hello everyone, 

I was wondering if anyone knows whether a diagnosis of melanoma or any cancer puts you at higher risk of catching covid? I'm a teacher and all covid restrictions have ended in schools - I'm in a school with 250 4-13 year olds. I teach the older ones, years 7+8 but come into contact with all of them. We currently have kids in school with immediate family members who are positive - parents/siblings. 

Any ideas?

• Hi Spanielmumma

This is what I was told, it’s not the melanoma as such but the treatment you are on that affects things, and it’s not that you are more likely to catch it it’s just that your body has more things to deal with so more likely to have it worse. I fall into the extremely clinically vulnerable group as I’m still on Pembrolizumab and need to self isolate for a few days before each treatment, I’m also a mild asthmatic and I’m type 2 diabetic although diet controlled only. My blood count usually shows my white cells as being low so I’ve been very much hermit like throughout this whole period. More concerned that even flu can disrupt treatment as you shouldn’t be going near the oncology day unit with a raised temperate even before covid. I’m not a medic so you might want to talk to your own hospital team about your own circumstances.

Ive edited this to put in a link to Macmillan’s coronavirus hub info incase you hadn’t come across it and might find it useful.

https://www.macmillan.org.uk/coronavirus?_ga=2.33413433.603445513.1631391183-1177693453.1627383314

Take care KT

• Hi Spanielmumma, 

I think it depends to what stage you are and what type of treatment you have. I am stage 2a and I am not having any treatment. I work at Infection Sciences and deal with covid + patient and their samples on daily basis, was told by both my H&S officer and Consultant who delivered the diagnosis that risk category is same as before.