Initial wait..... how long?

• 22 replies
  • 59 subscribers

Hi all,

I had ‘the’ call from the lovely Macmillan nurse two weeks ago today and have not received anything from the hospital yet.

I’m not worrying, which I’ve impressed myself with, but I am not good at not having plans. I’m one of those people who needs things organised. I teach part time, have two autistic teens and I’m an unpaid carer for my mum who hasn’t left the house without me in years. Being able to put dates on things really helps. 

I spoke with the lovely nurse on Friday and she said to give it a few more weeks.... just wondering how long most people wired between the call and getting a date for a follow up appointment? 

• Hi

I'm assuming that the follow-up appointment you're talking about is for a wide local excision (WLE) and possible sentinel lymph node biopsy (SLNB), is that right? If so I had my melanoma diagnosis at the end of November, met the plastic surgeon who was going to do my WLE and SLNB in January and had the operations in February. I think this is probably longer than most people wait as Christmas and New Year got in the way. Just to add this was in 2015/2016.

x

Community Champion Badge

"Never regret a day in your life, good days give you happiness, bad days give you experience"

• Thank you so much for replying. Yea it’s the appointment to discuss the WLE and SLNB. I haven’t seen anyone yet, just a call for the lovely nurse two weeks ago with the news it was melanoma. I don’t even know how big the mole was that they removed in terms of depth.

It’s just reassuring to know that these timescales are all ok