Newbie - Small Cell Lung Cancer

• 9 replies
  • 104 subscribers

Hello

Newbie here! My dad's been diagnosed with SCLC. We are all very aware it's incurable and treatment is the only option to give him more time. Does anyone have any tips or advice on how to cope? It's so hard to trying to make the most of what ever time there is left without getting upset all the time. The cancer has been diagnosed quite early and as far as we know its contained and he is due to start chemo next week. Is there any tips on what to expect with this treatment or how I keep a positive mind set for myself and family.

Any advice much appreciated 

• Hi Louise

So very sorry that you have cause to be on here.

Have you been formally advised that it is 'incurable'?  I only ask this as, if the SCLS is being described as 'contained', this means in SCLC terms it is 'Limited' i.e it is only in the one lung and has not spread beyond the lung.  In addition, the SCLC has been caught early.

As a SCLC survivor, this all sounds quite positive.  

Chemotherapy can often bring good results for SCLC in terms of shrinking the tumour.  If this is the case, then Dad could be prescribed a course of Radiotherapy to target the remaining (and smaller) tumour.

Cancer treatment has come on in leaps and bounds over the last couple of decades, and is no longer the automatic death sentence it once was.  Sadly, web searches such as Google etc, do not accurately reflect this.

You haven't said how old dad is,or if he has other significant health issues; all of which could/would impact on the treatment plan and potential outcomes. 

I wish you and your Dad the best possible outcomes.

Kegsy x

"If you are going through hell, keep going" ; Sir Winston Churchill
    " Cancer may take my life; however it will not become my life" Kegsy August 2011
  • Hello Kegsy,