Terminal lung cancer

• 7 replies
  • 102 subscribers

My aunt was diagnosed with stage 4 terminal lung cancer on 24th Jan 2024. The cancer is mainly in her right lung, spread to her left and nodes around it. Treatment was not an option due to the severetiy plus her overall health.

She has since had 2 lung drains to help with the increasing fluid however now she is nolonger having these. The deterioration is huge. She has lost around 4 stone since January. She nolonger eats anything except one complan a day. Her bottom is very sore with pressure ulcers which I am supporting her with. She can no longer go up the stairs and sleeps in her arm chair.

She has refused for nurses visit due to a level of denial and pride. I was a nurse many years ago so hence why I am dressing her bottom. I go round to her every evening to dress her bottom and help get her ready for bed. DRs have prescribed oramorph to help her sleep. It's such a draining time for her and us. she has become a little forgetful and confused at times. We do not know if or where the cancer has spread too. 

Just reaching out really for support and guidance. How long can she sustain herself on complan? It feels like every day there are little changes for the worse. 

• Dear TBello