Hello, newbie here.

• 3 replies
  • 133 subscribers

I never imagined the day would come when I would need support for cancer, but here I am.

I have Mucoepidermoid Carcinoma, which is a rare type of salivary gland cancer. The tumour first came up in the New Year of 2013, and the hospital I was under referral with (I won't name and shame) eventually told me it was benign, and not to worry about it. As I've been completely asymptomatic, no-one made the connection that it could be cancer.

A couple of years ago, someone at work noticed the lump in my neck and I made up my mind to get it sorted once and for all. I had a superficial parotidectomy in April this year after numerous scans, biopsies, ultrasounds, and x-rays. At first the consultant thought it might be a TB related bacteria, and even tried medication. After all options had been exhausted, he gave me the option to have it removed which is what I'd wanted all along.

A CT scan has confirmed the cancer hasn't spread, but part of the tumour is still there. My wonderful consultant has offered me three options:

1. A full parotidectomy, which carries a risk of permanent facial paralysis.
  2. Radiotherapy, which carries various risks.
  3. No further action, but frequent MRI's to keep an eye on it, as it's a slow growing type.

Option 3 is off the table, I hate MRIs, and the prospect of having to have one every few months is just a no-no.

My next appointment is on the 25th July, which will be decision time, so I have a few weeks to think about it.

My consultant is in favour of the full parotidectomy. I feel very safe in his hands, and the level of care I've received from him and his team has been second to none. But all surgery carries a risk and there are no guarantees.

I'm leaning towards radiotherapy, but that could means weeks of feeling unwell, not eating, diarrhoea, skin damage, and the potential to develop cancer elsewhere in the body.