Newbie, tonsil cancer T2 N0/1 (tbc) M0, just had surgery, in a lot of pain!

• 33 replies
  • 129 subscribers

Hi all, thanks for welcoming me into this community. I am new to this world. I was diagnosed with hpv tonsil cancer last month with a nearby swollen lymph that didn’t show as cancerous in any scans but caused some obvious concern. Tumour is stage 2 but as it seemed to be a contained tumour it was agreed surgery would be worth a try first so we can biopsy the equivocal lymph node. Then chemoradiation or just radiation if needed (or possibly no further action but not sure how I feel about this). Anyway, I’m 5 days post surgery and in agony but the inability to swallow is driving me mad and I’m rapidly losing weight that I can’t afford to lose. I choke or spray everywhere. I really don’t want a tube and can’t even stomach ensures. Any tips to get swallowing back on track as quickly as possible? 

• Hi Sarah. Welcome from me. I too had tonsil cancer but surgery wise only the biopsy. From  what others have said the pain will peak around 10 days. But in the meantime you do need food , I had the ng tube it may be the only way if you really can’t swallow the ensures or ask for another type fortisip maybe ? I was T2N2NM and had the standard chemo radiation .Have you tried poached eggs ?  Or even complan a that most supermarkets sell They are nutritious and slip down . Are you taking pain killers by rote ? Do you have co codomol and oramorph ?
    sadly there’s no magic wand only time will help. Please let us know how yiu get in and if you are going down chemo radiation we will all try to help. 
    Hazel x

Hazel aka RadioactiveRaz 

My blog is www.radioactiveraz.wordpress.com  HPV 16+ tonsil cancer Now 5 years  post treatment. 35 radiotherapy 2 chemo T2N2NM.Happily getting on with living always happy to help  

• Hi Sarah and welcome from me too.