I’m here for my husband.

• 8 replies
  • 9 subscribers

Thanks to  I’ve found my way here, not had time to read much yet but I will.

My husband has kidney cancer and is having yearly CT scans, that’s where the lymph nodes in his groin was noticed, I’m thinking they’ve been keeping an eye on them for a year or so. We went to haematology yesterday where we was told he has Non Hodgkin Lymphnoma, Follicular, he gave an arm full of blood as he called it, waiting for an appointment for a bone marrow biopsy to see if he will need radiotherapy or just watch and wait, I’m very new to this kind of cancer so may have got some things wrong. The Consultant and CNS nurse was very nice. 

it’s nice having you all here, my husband 80 next year but a very young 80 and I’m sure he’ll do well. Oh by the way the kidney CT scan was still all clear phew! Xx

• Hi again  and well done navigating over to this corner.

Follicular Lymphoma is one of a number of different types of Low-grade non-Hodgkin lymphoma. My type of NHL is also Low-Grade and although treatable it is incurable so it is seen to be a chronic health condition.

Active Monitoring (Watch and Wait)  is a peculiar mindset when it comes to cancer but in Lymphomas like FL it often is the way things can go in the early days.

All the links above are taken from the Lymphoma Action website. Lymphoma Action is the only UK Lymphoma Specific Charity who have lots of good reliable information, videos and run regular Lymphoma Online Support Groups for patients with a few groups specifically for Family and Carers...... I highly recommend these groups as there is nothing better than talking with other who have walked the journey.

They also have a great Lymphoma Action Buddy Service where people can be linked up with someone who has walked the same treatment journey. They also have a Lymphoma helpline on 0808 808 5555 where Sharon or Nic will be on hand to give you some support - open every week day from 10 till 3.