New to all this!

• 2 replies
  • 29 subscribers

Hi everyone I'm Donna. I was diagnosed with cervical cancer in 2019 and went through the usual chemo/radio. Unfortunately it has now spread to my lungs so I'm now in the incurable camp!!! Luckily my last scan showed that the tumours appear to be slow growing at the moment so no need for more chemo at the moment, hurrah!! I'm new to this but I have really struggled with my feelings for so long that I thought I'd give it a go. No one really gets it unless they're in it do they?

• Hi and welcome to the Online Community. It's good to read that your tumours are slow growing so no need for more chemo at the moment.

I've a different type of cancer but I can agree my emotions are only just buried under the surface. My 3 sessions of Brachytherapy supposedly have zapped any escapees but I've a few unexplained things going on and when I try to tell my hubby how scared I am he looks at me all blank and says I'm ok! I'm imagining it!

That's the great benefit of joining these forums as you are chatting to others who understand your deep-seated fears and yes, they do get it! I'm going to suggest that you join another group Living with incurable cancer there you'll be able to discuss with others your feelings and get support when you need it.

It’s always helpful to others if you write a little something (or a lot) about yourself and your journey to date. You can enter it into your profile (click on your username and select “Profile”) It’s helpful to other members with a similar diagnosis who can then hopefully answer your questions. It also means that you don't have to keep writing the same thing over and over. You can amend or update it at any time.