Just found out I have cervical cancer

• 8 replies
  • 32 subscribers

Hi 

2 days ago my world fell apart. I was told I have cervical cancer. I don’t know right now what stage I am (we think early though). Had MRI last night and that was scary and trying not to think of why I was in there was so hard. Waiting for a CT scan appointment at moment and then next week hopefully get to know what’s next. 
im still in shock and wondering why me? What have I done to get this? 
i worrying about everyone around me more than myself. I’m a mum of 2 birth children (22 & 18) and 3 step children (23,18,18) and a partner who I’ve only just got back with due to the beginning of my journey and him knowing something was wrong with me. He has been though my past nightmares and been my rock and I’m so grateful for him holding my hand. I’m worried about him and our children with all this. They all seem ok with it and just want me to be ok and to stop worrying about them but that’s me. I’m a professional carer and so care too much for everyone and am known not to look after myself or let others help me but guess now I need to stop and let others treat me like I do my lovely clients. 
im worried about work and how they will be as I don’t feel very supported by them normally. But guess my future is in my control as much as I can be. 

•  Hi and welcome to the group. I agree the day you hear those dreaded words your world does turn upside down but gradually you come to terms with it. It was roughly this time last year my journey started and now it's a distant memory.

I've a different cancer to you and my diagnosis came totally out of the blue - no-one in biological family had ever had cancer so yes I did say "Why me? - this happens to other people!" 

The great thing is you have the firm support of your partner and when the ladies here come along to answer you'll have their support as well. And yes, it is time for you to let those around you pamper you.