HER2 positive newly diagnosed breast cancer

• 12 replies
  • 272 subscribers

Hi All,

I am very new to this experience and finding it incredibly hard to deal with uncertainty so was looking to see if any of you wonderful people could share your experience.

My mum who is 59 was found to have a 14mm tumour on a routine mammogram.  No symptoms whatsoever.  She has been diagnosed with grade 2 invasive ductal carcinoma.   That was the first shock.  The second shock came when the HER2 receptor came back positive and we were told she would need chemotherapy. She is also ER and PR positive.  She will be seeing the breast surgeon this Friday but the aim is to do breast conserving surgery.

I just wondered if anyone here was diagnosed with a HER2 positive cancer who would be able to share where they are now and how the chemo was? (Although I appreciate this is different for everyone)

Thank you xxx

• Hi  I was diagnosed last October with her2 breast cancer. My treatment plan is chemo, surgery, radiotherapy and then herceptin injections for 12 months. 

I’ve finished chemo and had 2 surgeries ( as I had an issue after the first ) I start radiotherapy next Monday. 

chemo treatments are different for different people but mine was 2 lots of chemo drugs carboplatin and another can’t recall name at the moment and 2 lots of targeted drugs. All were given through iv, so I had a port fitted which meant no picc line I would recommend this as the treatment took between 7-8 hours each time to get it all in and then sometimes they would have to give me additional meds depending on blood results, such as magnesium or potassium. So you are there a while and the port just makes it easier and also saves your veins.