TNBC immunotherapy a year on

• 7 replies
  • 268 subscribers

Hello all 

It's my first time posting here, I've been in the background reading other people's journey for a while. 

A bit of background to help with my questions:

My mum was diagnosed with TNBC, stage 3, grade 3 in Jan 2023. She had chemo & immunotherapy every 3 weeks for 5 months, a lumpectompy in Nov and then Jan this year 5 days of radiotherapy. 

We thought that would be the end of the treatment journey but her oncologist has put her back on immunotherapy (6 weekly) for 2 years. 

My mum isn't doing well this time. She lost her appetite again, lost weight, being sick, very tired and wobbly when she stands as her joints are aching. This has been going on for weeks. 

We'd just started to get our Mum back & this feels like a massive step backwards. 

I've contacted her GP to ask for meal replacement drinks to try and get some nutrients into her body & emailed her oncologist to explain the change we've seen and to see if we can see him asap. 

My question are:

Has anyone been through this same treatment plan and not had the 2 years immunotherapy after? 

Any tips on the side effects? (She has been taking the anti sickness tablets)

Recommendations on what we do next? 

I'm feeling pretty helpless at the moment so any advice to help my mum would be really appreciated. 

Thanks x 

• Hi. Sorry to hear your mum is struggling with the treatment, that must be so frustrating for all of you.   I haven't had the same experience, but it might be helpful for you to have a chat with the lovely folks at Macmillan as they might be able to give you some advice.  You can call them on 0800 808 0000. Best wishes 

Community Champion badge

• Thanks for taking the time to reply. X