Radiotherapy

• 12 replies
  • 255 subscribers

Hi.

So I'm new to this and this is my first message, in September I was diagnosed with breast cancer grade 1 after my operation where they removed my lump and lymph nodes which were clear it was upgraded to a grade 2 therefore I am due to start radiotherapy....any advice on this treatment would be grateful. I'm scared, worried etc....! Blush

• Hi Flower42 welcome to the forum and well done on at least having the treatment past in respect of surgery at least.

Having Radiotherapy is preventative in its nature and whilst you will not feel anything when this is being done the skin on the breast can become red and sore due to the treatment but there are creams that you can use. The Radiotherapy Unit should advise you about this before you start treatment or just ask them.

Please don't be scared it is ok honestly. It can make you feel very tired though so be prepared for that and rest up as you are able also if you have to travel to and from the unit that can add to the feelings of tiredness. 

Meantime  Im sure some huge big hugs wouldn't go amiss so Im sending some your way.xxxxx

gail

Community Champion Badge

• Hi Flower42, I’ve just had my surgery ( have been told it was grade 1 so hoping for no change there Fingers crossed tone1 get my results next Friday ) I then know I have to start radiotherapy - think around January. 
    Know how you are feeling as no idea what to expect with radio?!  

Im only 6 days post lumpectomy and really struggling with pain in armpit Disappointed relievedDisappointed relieved

• Thank you so much for your reply and virtual hugs are appreciated. I was very nervous about joining this site as I'm struggling to come to terms with things but your reply has made me feel better and realise it's not just me going through this. 

Take care x